Creative and Emotion Sensing Technologies

Emotion Sensing Technologies that track/read, interpret and respond to emotions are about to be fully integrated into our daily lives. These systems have huge potentials but also pose difficult challenges, these are sketched in this thesis…

Creative and Emotion Sensing Technologies

Emotion Sensing Technologies that read, interpret and respond to emotions are about to be fully integrated into our daily lives. These systems can be used in almost any field, which is driving the popularity and current development immensely.

The bachelor thesis ‘Creative and Productive Emotion Sensing Technologies’ deals with the extent to which Emotion Sensing Technologies can promote productivity and creativity. In addition, the state of development of Emotion Sensing Technologies and the two subsystems Facial Emotion Recognition and Speech Emotion Recognition is determined with the help of the Technology Readiness Level (TRL) and the Commercial Readiness Index (CRI). The TRL describes the technological maturity of an innovation while the CRI deals with the commercial maturity, and thus the combination of the two evaluation schemes leads to a clear assessment of the development.

This paper is written from the perspective of a fashion and design manager, which is why the last part of the paper establishes a practical reference to the fashion and design industry. To this end, the actual state in this industry was first researched, i.e. applications of Emotion Sensing Technologies that are currently already taking place.

The research results on the applications resulted in the opportunities and risks. The last part of the work consists of a recommendation for action, which gives suggestions for the practical use of the technologies in the fashion and design industry. The first part deals with the introduction of such systems in a company and the resulting relief for employees. It is also about the integration of such technologies in stationary retail and for creative purposes. The last part of the recommendation is about convincing the customer or employee of the advantages of the technology and the creation of an ethically correct manuscript for the use of Emotion Sensing Technologies.

 

Oliver Kristen

Creative and Emotion Sensing Technologies

Emotion Sensing Technologies, die Emotionen lesen, interpretieren und darauf reagieren, stehen kurz davor vollständig in unser alltägliches Leben integriert zu werden. Diese Systeme bieten große Potenziale aber auch noch größere Herausforderungen, welche hier näher betrachtet werden

Creative and Emotion Sensing Technologies

Emotion Sensing Technologies, die Emotionen lesen, interpretieren und darauf reagieren, stehen kurz davor vollständig in unser alltägliches Leben integriert zu werden. Diese Systeme können in nahezu jedem Bereich eingesetzt werden, was die Popularität und die aktuelle Entwicklung immens antreibt.

In der Bachelorarbeit Creative and Productive Emotion Sensing Technologies wird sich damit beschäftigt, inwieweit Emotion Sensing Technologies die Produktivität und Kreativität fördern können. Zusätzlich wird der Entwicklungsstand von Emotion Sensing Technologies und der zwei Subsysteme Facial Emotion Recognition und Speech Emotion Recognition mit Hilfe des Technology Readiness Level (TRL) und des Commercial Readiness Indexes (CRI) ermittelt. Der TRL beschreibt die technologische Reife einer Innovation während sich der CRI mit der kommerziellen Reife auseinandersetzt, und so die Kombination der beiden Bewertungsschemen zu einer deutlichen Einschätzung der Entwicklung führt. Diese Arbeit ist aus Sicht eines Mode- und Designmanagers geschrieben, weshalb im letzten Teil der Arbeit dann der praktische Bezug zur Mode- und Designindustrie hergestellt wird.

Dafür wurde zunächst der IST-Stand in dieser Industrie erforscht, also Anwendungen von Emotion Sensing Technologies, die aktuell schon stattfinden. Aus den Forschungsergebnissen über die Anwendungen ergaben sich die Chancen und Risiken. Der letzte Teil der Arbeit besteht aus einer Handlungsempfehlung, welche Anregungen zum praktischen Einsatz der Technologien in der Mode- und Designindustrie gibt. Hierbei geht es zunächst um die Einführung solcher Systeme in einem Unternehmen und die dadurch entstehende Entlastung für Mitarbeiter. Außerdem geht es um die Einbindung solcher Systeme im stationären Handel und für kreative Zwecke.
Im letzten Teil der Empfehlung geht es um die Überzeugung des Kunden oder Mitarbeiters von den Vorzügen der Technologie sowie die Erstellung eines ethisch-korrekten Manuskript für den Einsatz von Emotion Sensing Technologies.

 

Oliver Kristen