Gender Discrimination on steroids via AI

The bachelor thesis deals with the discrimination potential of Machine Learning Algorithms within Decision – Support – Systems (DSS), which are increasingly used in German companies. The specialization is in the areas of recruiting and marketing. The concrete goal of the work was to find out whether AI-based systems reinforce gender discrimination or not.

Gender Discrimination on steroids via AI –

Exploration of new forms and dimensions of gender discrimination in different industries and preparation of recommendations for the future of advanced software solutions.

The bachelor thesis deals with the discrimination potential of Machine Learning Algorithms withinDecision – Support – Systems (DSS), which are increasingly used in German companies. The specialization is in the areas of recruiting and marketing. The concrete goal of the thesis was to find out whether AI – based systems reinforce gender discrimination or not.

The elaboration shows that AI – based systems in the form of DSS can actually provide a breeding ground for gender discrimination. This does not result from the technology itself, but from a multitude of factors, such as distorted training data, the algorithms created and the involvement of a multitude of people with different competences and characteristics in the development process of such systems. Despite the still low use of AI in Germany, there is a risk of emancipatory regression in the future, as an enormous increase in use is planned. So far, no uniform framework conditions for data acquisition, transmission and processing have been established, user companies themselves have little know-how in the field of AI, there is a great lack of data specialists and action against digital gender discrimination is generally not well received.

This results in different dangers for the areas considered, which can affect the individual’s freedom of development, the right to comprehensive information and the personal freedom of decision of the individual. A holistic rethinking must therefore take place and a catalogue of criteria must be drawn up for the creation, use and long-term handling of AI – based software. A first approach is provided by a package insert for algorithmic systems as well as a code of ethics and recommendations for action for the various stakeholders developed within the bachelor thesis.

Nikola GroteĀ

Gender Discrimination on steroids via AI

Die Bachelorarbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Diskriminierungspotenzial von Machine Learning Algorithmen innerhalb Decision – Support – Systems (DSS), die in deutschen Unternehmen immer mehr Einsatzbereiche finden. Hierbei erfolgt eine Spezialisierung auf den Bereich Recruiting und den Bereich Marketing. Das konkrete Ziel der Arbeit lag darin herauszufinden, ob AI – basierte Systeme Genderdiskriminierung verstärken oder nicht.

Gender Discrimination on steroids via AI –

Exploration neuer Formen und Ausmaße der Genderdiskriminierung unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Branchen und Erstellung von Handlungsempfehlungen für die Zukunft von fortgeschrittenen Softwarelösungen

Die Bachelorarbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Diskriminierungspotenzial von Machine Learning Algorithmen innerhalb Decision – Support – Systems (DSS), die in deutschen Unternehmen immer mehr Einsatzbereiche finden. Hierbei erfolgt eine Spezialisierung auf den Bereich Recruiting und den Bereich Marketing. Das konkrete Ziel der Arbeit lag darin herauszufinden, ob AI – basierte Systeme Genderdiskriminierung verstärken oder nicht.

Aus der Untersuchung geht hervor, dass AI – Systeme in Form von DSS tatsächlich einen Nährboden für Genderdiskriminierungen liefern können. Dies resultiert nicht aus der Technologie selbst, sondern aus einer Vielzahl von Faktoren, wie zum Beispiel verzerrten Trainingsdaten, den erstellten Algorithmen und die Beteiligung einer Vielzahl von Personen mit unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen und Eigenschaften am Entwicklungsprozess solcher Systeme. Trotz des noch geringen Einsatzes von AI in Deutschland, besteht die Gefahr des emanzipatorischen Rückschrittes für die Zukunft, da eine enorme Steigerung des Einsatzes geplant ist. Es wurden bisher keine einheitlichen Rahmenbedingungen für die Datenerfassung, -übertragung und – verarbeitung getroffen, Anwenderunternehmen bringen selbst wenig Know – How im Bereich AI mit, es herrscht ein großer Mangel an Datenspezialisten und das Handeln gegen digitale Genderdiskriminierung findet insgesamt wenig Anklang.

Daraus resultieren unterschiedliche Gefahren für die betrachteten Bereiche, die sich auf die individuelle Entfaltungsfreiheit, das Recht auf umfassende Information und die persönliche Entscheidungsfreiheit des Einzelnen auswirken können. Es muss daher ein ganzheitliches Umdenken stattfinden und ein Kriterienkatalog für die Erstellung, den Einsatz und den langfristigen Umgang mit AI – basierter Software erstellt werden. Einen ersten Ansatz dafür liefern ein Beipackzettel für algorithmische Systeme sowie ein Ethikkodex und Handlungsempfehlungen, für die verschiedenen Teilhaber, die innerhalb der Bachelorarbeit entwickelt wurden.

Nikola Grote