More purposeful use of algorithmic innovations for getting a sustainability self-assessment tool

2021
AI has the potential to be a solution-driven force tackling our biggest challenge – climate crisis. The problem of climate change is complex why executives’ social responsibility and consumers’ consciousness must rise to engage with it collectively.

More purposeful use of algorithmic innovations for getting a sustainability self-assessment tool

Case study of major fashion actors to raise AI design competences and responsible consumer integration to tackle the climate crisis.

AI has the potential to be a solution-driven force tackling our biggest challenge – climate crisis.

The problem of climate change is complex why executives’ social responsibility and consumers’ consciousness must rise to engage with it collectively. Harvard Business Review interviewed executives at global institutional investment firms, the biggest asset managers, -owners and government pension funds of countries like Japan and Sweden about the environment, social and governance (ESG) issues. ESG is now top of mind for these leaders and that corporations will soon be held accountable by shareholders for their ESG-performance. The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are the leading ESG-framework for large companies.

Nonetheless, do companies already collect user data from their sustainable customers to service the SDGs by solving global social and ecological problems?

This thesis develops a sustainability self-assessment tool applying AI design competences and algorithmic innovations for actors in the fashion and creative industries, providing more purposeful reorientation. The tool includes instructions on how to use algorithms and customer integration to strategically reduce complexity for achieving responsible circular consumption and production by 2030.

 

Melenie Hecker

More purposeful use of algorithmic innovations for getting a sustainability self-assessment tool

2021
Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) besitzt das Potenzial, eine lösungsorientierte treibende Kraft bei der Bewältigung unserer größten Herausforderung – der Klimakrise – zu sein. Das Problem des Klimawandels ist vielschichtig, weshalb die soziale Verantwortung von Führungskräften und das Bewusstsein von Verbrauchern steigen müssen, damit sich kollektiv mit ihm auseinandergesetzt werden kann.

More purposeful use of algorithmic innovations for getting a sustainability self-assessment tool

Case study of major fashion actors to raise AI design competences and responsible consumer integration to tackle the climate crisis. 

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) besitzt das Potenzial, eine lösungsorientierte treibende Kraft bei der Bewältigung unserer größten Herausforderung – der Klimakrise – zu sein.

Das Problem des Klimawandels ist vielschichtig, weshalb die soziale Verantwortung von Führungskräften und das Bewusstsein von Verbrauchern steigen müssen, damit sich kollektiv mit ihm auseinandergesetzt werden kann. Harvard Business Review befragte Führungskräfte globaler institutioneller Investmentfirmen, die größten Vermögensverwalter, -eigentümer und staatlichen Pensionsfonds von Ländern wie Japan und Schweden zu den Themen Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung (Environment, Social and Governance, ESG). Sie kamen zum Ergebnis, dass ESG für die Befragten jetzt an erster Stelle stehen und Unternehmen bald von den Aktionären für ihre ESG-Performance zur Verantwortung gezogen würden. Die UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) sind der führende ESG-Framework für große Unternehmen.

Sammeln die Unternehmen allerdings schon heute Nutzerdaten von ihren nachhaltigen Kunden, um die SDGs mit der Bewältigung globaler sozialer und ökologischer Probleme zu erfüllen?

In dieser Arbeit wird ein Selbstbewertungstool für Nachhaltigkeit entwickelt, das KI-Designkompetenzen und algorithmische Innovationen für Akteure in der Mode- und Kreativindustrie anwendet und eine zielgerichtete Neuorientierung ermöglicht. Das Tool beinhaltet Anweisungen, wie man Algorithmen und Kundenintegration nutzen kann, um die Komplexität strategisch zu reduzieren, damit bis 2030 ein verantwortungsvoller zirkulärer Konsum und eine nachhaltige Produktion erreicht werden können.

 

Melenie Hecker